Priory House Monks Walk Chicksands Shefford SG17 5TQ

> Chief Executive Jaki Salisbury

TO EACH MEMBER OF THE CENTRAL BEDFORDSHIRE SHADOW COUNCIL

17 April 2008

Dear Councillor

CENTRAL BEDFORDSHIRE SHADOW COUNCIL - Thursday 10 April 2008

Further to the Agenda and papers for the above meeting, previously circulated, please find attached the following supplementary report(s).

Agenda Item	Description
10.	COMPOSITION OF THE SHADOW EXECUTIVE AND PROPOSED SCHEME OF DELEGATION OF EXECUTIVE FUNCTIONS
	To receive a report from the Leader regarding the responsibilities to be held by Councillors elected to the Shadow Executive together with a record of the proposed Scheme of Delegation of Executive Functions. (Rule No. 1.2 of the Executive Procedure Rule refers). (To be tabled)

Should you have any queries regarding the above please contact Democratic Services on Tel: 01462 611033

Yours sincerely

Kathrin John, Democratic Services Manager

email: kathrin.john@midbeds.gov.uk



CENTRAL BEDFORDSHIRE SHADOW COUNCIL MEETING

10 APRIL 2008

COMPOSITION OF THE SHADOW EXECUTIVE AND PROPOSED SCHEME OF DELEGATION OF EXECUTIVE FUNCTIONS

Report of the Leader

As required by Executive Procedure Rule No. 1.2, details of the responsibilities to be held by Councillors elected to the Shadow Executive together the proposed Scheme of Delegation of Executive Functions are set out below.

1. Responsibilities of Executive Councillors

The attached schedule sets out the responsibilities to be held by Councillors elected to the Shadow Executive.

2. Authority delegated to Individual Executive Councillors

No authority has been delegated to any individual Executive Councillor at this stage.

3. Executive Committees

No Executive Committees have been appointed.

4. Delegation to Interim Officers

The Scheme of Executive Functions Delegated to Interim Officers is contained in Part 3 of the Constitution (Section B of the Officer Scheme of Delegation refers, subject to the qualifications listed in Section A of that Scheme) No additional functions have been delegated beyond those set out in the Constitution at this stage.

COMPOSITION OF THE SHADOW EXECUTIVE AND RESPONSIBILITIES

Executive Councillor	Responsibility
Tricia Turner	Leader of the Shadow Executive and Leader of the Council
Philip Penman	Vice-Chairman of the Shadow Executive and Deputy Leader of the Council
Mark Chapman	Support across all portfolios/transitional task forces
Norman Costin	Portfolio for Children, Young People and Families
Rita Drinkwater	Support across all portfolios/transitional task forces
Maurice Jones	Portfolio for Corporate Resources
Bob King	Portfolio for Customers and Community Engagement
Ken Matthews	Portfolio for Sustainable Development
Peter Rawcliffe	Portfolio for Social Care, Health and Housing
Duncan Ross	Support across all portfolios/transitional task forces
Peter Snelling	Portfolio for Safer and Stronger Communities
Richard Stay	Support across all portfolios/transitional task forces